

2025 LEGISLATIVE DIGEST

A summary of all of the legislative actions that took place during the most recent legislative session impacting lowa schools.



About UEN

The Urban Education Network of Iowa (UEN) is a consortium of school districts in Iowa with two high schools or urban tendencies. The UEN enrolls over 43% of Iowa's total public-school students. Although the UEN was formed to represent the unique characteristics of Iowa's more urban districts, most UEN initiatives also address issues related to all Iowa public schools.

During the 2024-25 school year, the UEN Membership was made up of 10 of Iowa's largest districts in urban communities (all with two or more high schools), along with the 14 UEN additional member districts. Together, the 24 UEN member districts:

- Include nearly 388 school attendance centers, about 30% of lowa's total PK-12 attendance centers, and specifically:
 - 52 High Schools
 - o 62 Jr. High/Middle Schools
 - 247 Elementary Schools
 - 20 Stand-alone Preschools (plus over 250 other preschools either stand-alone, contained within elementaries or in collaboration with community partners and nonpublic schools). UEN districts operate 51% of PK programs in Iowa.
 - 18 Academies, STEAM, STEM, Fine Arts, Alternative or Special Education schools, plus a number of Online Learning Academies
- Enroll 43% of Iowa's 504,287 PK-12 students
- Educate 67% of Iowa's PK-12 non-white students, including 83% of Iowa's Black or African American students, 71% of Iowa's Asian students and 59% of Iowa's Hispanic/Latino students
- Enroll 70% of Iowa's English Learner (EL) students
- Serve 51% of Iowa's K-12 low-income students (UEN enrollment of Free and Reduced Lunch eligible students is 50% of total UEN enrollment, compared to the statewide average of 42%)
- Provide Special Education Services to 45% of Iowa students with Individualized Education Plans (IEPs)
- Employ 42% of Iowa's PK-12 certified staff
- Employ 33% of lowa's school principals
- Contract with many other school districts and post-secondarypartners, both public and private, to educate students (i.e., preschool, special education, talented and gifted, career and technical education, online learning, college-level coursework, etc.)
- Address the challenges of changing demographics and student needs on a daily basis
- Identify and address major educational challenges such as student achievement, chronic
 absenteeism, teacher and administrator leadership, dropout prevention, career and technical
 as well as science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) programs, fine arts, facilities,
 finance, technology, early literacy and early childhood

Maintaining partnerships is vitally important to the mission of the UEN. These partnerships include, but are not limited to: School Administrators of Iowa, Iowa Association of School Boards, Iowa State Education Association, Iowa PTA, Rural School Advocates of Iowa and Common Good Iowa. The UEN also appreciates the American Association of School Administrators, the Council of Urban Boards of Education, and the Urban Superintendents Association of America. Iowa School Finance Information Services provides administrative and public policy research support to the UEN.

UEN Leadership 2024-25 School Year

TJ Schneckloth, Chair, Davenport CSD, Superintendent, schnecklotht@davenportschools.org
Amy Hawkins, Chair-Elect, Dubuque CSD, Superintendent, ahawkins@dbqschools.org
Rod Earlywine, Chair-Elect 2, Sioux City CSD, Superintendent, earleyr@live.siouxcityschools.com
Matt Degner, Past-Chair, Iowa City CSD, Superintendent, degner.matt@iowacityschools.org
Jared Smith, Treasurer, Waterloo CSD, Superintendent, smithjr@waterlooschools.org

UEN Executive Director & Legislative Analyst

Margaret Buckton, margaret@iowaschoolfinance.com, (515) 251-5970 Ext. 1

UEN Member Districts 2024-25 School Year

UEN Founding Members:

- Cedar Rapids Community School District*
- Council Bluffs Community School District*
- Davenport Community School District*
- Des Moines Public Schools*
- Dubuque Community School District*
- Iowa City Community School District *
- Sioux City Community School District*
- Waterloo Community School District*

Additional UEN Members:

- Ames Community School District
- Ankeny Community School District*
- Bettendorf Community School District
- Burlington Community School District
- Cedar Falls Community School District
- College Community School District
- Fort Dodge Community School District
- Linn-Mar Community School District
- Marshalltown Community School District
- Mason City Community School District
- Muscatine Community School District
- Ottumwa Community School District
- Southeast Polk Community School District
- Storm Lake Community School District
- Waukee Community School District*
- West Des Moines Community School District

Learn more about current UEN Member Districts at: www.uen-ia.org/member-list.

^{*}Indicates UEN Member Districts with two or more high school attendance centers

Thanks to our 2024-25 UEN Corporate Sponsor:

Special thank you to your UEN Corporate Sponsor for their support of UEN programs and services. Find information about how they may help your district on the Corporate Sponsor page of the UEN website at www.uen-ia.org/uen-sponsors.



www.solutiontree.com/st-states/iowa